F1 update: Ricciardo’s return to RedBull as third driver and the shifts within the paddock

As Redbull Racing confirmed Daniel Ricciardo for a reserve driver role, news floats around for Mich Schumacher's role as a Mercedes reserve. Let's find out more.

Daniel Ricciardo was confirmed as the third driver (reserve) for Redbull Racing for the year 2023 as he failed to find a racing seat for next season. Of course this would be time away from the racing bit but, he’d still be around the grid, maybe even trying his hands on other (lower) categories of racing. Although, the friction between Checo Perez and Verstappen at Interlagos could’ve also been a reason for Daniel’s joining. Maybe next year Checo actually gets in the way of a fight for the driver’s championship or maybe he just doesn’t help anymore, could that mean Checo would have to leave RedBull as Daniel plays the role of second fiddle to Max?

We’ll have an answer for all the above as soon as the next season is underway. Maybe right on the first race. But till then, here’s what Ricciardo had to say, “The smile says it all,” he said. “I’m truly excited to be coming back home to Oracle Red Bull Racing as their Third Driver in 2023. I already have so many fond memories of my time here, but the welcome from Christian [Horner], Dr [Helmut] Marko and the entire team is something I’m sincerely appreciative of. “For me personally, the ability to contribute to and be surrounded by the best team in F1 is hugely appealing, whilst also giving me some time to recharge and refocus. I can’t wait to be with the team and support with simulator work, testing sessions and commercial activities. Let’s go!”

The 2023 season is still far but at least we have the entire grid lineup. Here’s the confirmed grid for Formula One’s 2023 season,
S.No. Car No. Driver Name Team
1 1 Max Verstappen RedBull
2 11 Sergio Perez RedBull
3 16 Charles Leclerc Ferrari
4 55 Carlos Sainz Ferrari
5 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
6 63 George Russell Mercedes
7 10 Pierre gasly Alpine
8 31 Esteban Ocon Alpine
9 4 Lando Norris Mclaren
10 TBC Oscar Piastri Mclaren
11 24 Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo
12 77 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo
13 14 Fernando Alonso Aston Martin
14 18 Lance Stroll Aston Martin
15 20 Kevin Magussen Haas
16 27 Nico Hulkenberg Haas
17 22 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri
18 TBC Nyck DeVries AlphaTauri
19 23 Alex Albon Williams
20 TBC Logan Sargeant Williams
Show More

Prakhar K.

Editor-in-chief and 4-wheel fanatic

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please disable adblockers to access CarThrust.